more of the true story

Smartly, CBC.ca disabled commenting on their reports of this story, but on sites where commenting was allowed, there seems to be an overwhelming feeling that the media covered this beyond what was necessary. In fact, many think that there should have been no coverage at all. I disagree. There are some people, like me, who are fascinated by this sort of thing. I am not harming the family or victims by reading and watching this stuff. Nor are the ones who are going to study Russell Williams to figure out what made him tick. There is so much to learn from him and his ilk. I don’t think my interest makes me any kind of freak.

Tonight, W5 did a story on Williams and they showed some parts of the confession video that I had not yet seen. I was riveted. Even though I had previously read the transcript of most of what they showed in the video, to watch and hear the words come directly from his mouth was almost unreal. As I stated before, it’s the stuff of novels and television dramas. It’s so hard to believe how real it is and that it happened right here.

Anyway, I found an indirect link to the two halves of the W5 story, in case you want to watch it yourself.  At the right of the screen, next to the video for the link’s story, you’ll see links to Chilling Insights, parts one and two. http://www.ctv.ca/CTVNews/W5/20101022/russell-williams-interrogation-101022/

On an unrelated note, W5 is almost always broken up into two stories. While I am surprised they chose not to do a full hour on Williams, their second story was also quite interesting. Here’s that link, in case you want to check that out, too. http://www.ctv.ca/CTVNews/WFive/20101021/w5-dustin-lafortune-101023/

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to more of the true story

  1. Kzinti says:

    It’s weird and yet fascinating. What makes an average person go so far out like that. If they could figure out that one and work to stop it before this sort of thing happened, that would be the true story of stories.

  2. Laurie says:

    Thanks for posting the links, I missed the broadcast(s) and I do want to see it, as research for the novel I’m writing about a kidnapping.

  3. Jaypo says:

    I think people are naturally repelled and drawn by stories like Williams’. Seeing images of him, I was torn between revulsion, disgust, and wonder at how ridiculous he looked, at what was going on in his head to actually document himself committing crimes. At least until the memory of his escalating obsession became real.

    At the same time, there is a prurient element in the media broadcasts that must be recognized. Like when the newscaster presses a reluctant reporter for details, and finally says, “No problem we can wait…” Cold and tasteless perspective.

  4. crankypants says:

    Wow. One thing that I noticed was that he actually said that he raped them. I would expect rapists to just say they had sex with them. It’s really strange because he’s obviously an intelligent man and doesn’t seem crazy or anything, he never tries to deny anything really. Very interesting and really creepy.

    • Yeah, I noticed that, too. I haven’t seen any other clips that used the portions where he actually uses that word.

      Something else I caught was how they wondered what exactly he saw when he was putting on those women’s clothes since he looked so ridiculous.

      • crankypants says:

        Oh I think I didn’t get to that part yet, I just watched the first 2 parts of chilling insight..It’s also interesting to me how the interregator (i can’t get the spelling on that) goes about his job. Very gentle, trying to be nonchalant and nonjudgmental and acting a bit more like a psychologist when he asked what he was feeling or if he liked or disliked the women he victimized. Very interesting, of course you couldn’t do that with anyone, but Williams is a cool customer too.

  5. crankypants says:

    oh man I just watched the ones about Dustin Lafortune! holy crap that is some crazy stuff. That poor guy, but he has such a positive attitude, and brain injuries and all, he seems a lot more intelligent than some people without.

Leave a Reply

