edgar update

I hadn’t heard back from the vet’s about Edgar’s blood and urine tests so I called them today. Turns out they wanted me to come in, which I was told would probably be the case, and to bring Edgar, which wasn’t to be the case. I managed to get an appointment for today after work.

A few of his values are slightly elevated, but nothing that causes worry. He isn’t diabetic, which is great. There is the possibility that he is in early stages of kidney problems. They took some more blood tonight to do more specific tests, and they will also do a more specific urine test. I should hear back either the end of this week or early next. She sent me home with some reading material and showed me where to access other client info on their website.

Edgar had his blood pressure taken! Eee wee blood pressure cuffs = cute! It’s too bad it took so many tries to get three good readings, but it was the machine’s fault, not Edgar’s. He was good through the whole thing. We were in the “quiet room” for the first time. I didn’t realize they used that room for anything other than as a more comfortable room for euthanizing animals (you can have a bunch of folks with you and your pet during the last moments, rather than having it done in a clinical room), but I guess it’s good for putting animals at ease for stuff like blood pressure readings, just like a human.

For the first time in his life, I have to switch Edgar to a different food. Since his proteins are starting to register a little high, he finally qualifies for senior food. She recommended one, but I’m going to look around at some, or try to find a cheaper place than the vet clinic to buy the brand she mentioned. I bought one can to see if he likes it, but they didn’t have small “trial” bags of dry to buy.

That’s it for now. My brain is still filled with potential health issues, both his and my own, and I’ve got a wicked headache. It was a crappy day from the minute I got to work today, for various reasons, and it’s rather tiring.

Ciao all.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to edgar update

  1. Jaypo says:

    ((Hugs)) to Edgar and arbed!

  2. snoringKatZ says:

    Awww… rest well, arbed. A little snuggle with dear Edgar will make everything all right.

  3. littlemiao says:

    *hugs* and *miao purrs*

    The Miao Bros are all on low protein food too. I hope you find something Edgar likes.

  4. Kzinti says:

    Ah, just like kids. they muck about with everything you own, throw up on it, shred it, or consider it theirs. LOL. Our little furry children.

  5. lurkertype says:

    OMG, teeny tiny kitteh blood pressure cuffs?! That is some squee-worthy medical equipment.

    I had a splendid kitty who lived for several years after his kidney diagnosis. The prescription fud really did the job. There are several different brands of both dry and wet, so I’m sure you’ll find something Edgar likes.

  6. Oh, Edgar, you are such a Good Boy!

  7. crankypants says:

    Awwww Edagr is a good boy. I hope everything is okay with his kidneys and you can find a food that he loves (and won’t cost you an arm and a leg!) and I hope your own health concerns turn out to be nothing. *hugs* to boaf of yas!

  8. xeyli says:

    Take care, both of you!

  9. capnstephel says:

    A *hug* for both of you. Hope things start looking up soon

  10. leendadll says:

    I hope all goes better than expected.

    Espressa had some “maybe early symptom of kidney disease” issue but it turned out to be nothing more than she wasn’t getting enough fluids because she was freaked out about Skritches trying to attack her while she drank. I put a water bowl where only she can get to it and give her bonus wet food (the cats are all on dry) once in awhile and, so far, things seem to be okay.

    I hope the food switch turns out to be all that Edgar needs!

Leave a Reply

